Translate The Content in Your Local Language

Sunday, 8 November 2015

Karwar: Legislative Committee Takes Labour Dept Officials to Task

The Legislative Committee on Women and Child Welfare expressed its displeasure over the work of the Labour Department in Uttara Kannada district. It was also surprised over the negligible number of cases of women trafficking that have been reported in the district.

The committee led by MLA Malikayya Guttedar, reviewed the progress of various departments associated with women and child welfare as well as the welfare of senior citizens, labourers, physically challenged, devadasis and transgender. The work done by the departments of Uttara Kannada, Dharwad, Gadag and Haveri was reviewed at the Zilla Panchayat auditorium on Thursday.

Officials of the Labour Department said the district has over three lakh labourers but most of them have not been covered under the Rajiv Gandhi Swasthya Bima Yojna. The committee expressed its displeasure and asked the DCs of all the four districts to ensure that health benefits reach the labourers.

Guttedar said the district does not have an ESI hospital and hence the committee will submit a report to the government to get, hospital sanctioned.

Member Sankanur sought information on the distribution of tricycles to the handicapped using 3 percent of the funds allotted the various departments ant the local area development funds of legislators and parliamentarians. Officials Sail the tricycles are yet to be distributed as the company is in the process of assembling the parts.

Committee members, including actress and MLC Jayamala, expressed shod when Uttara Kannada Superintendent of Police B Dileep said there have been no cases of trafficking women from the district, to which Guttedar said he has reports of over 200 women trafficked from Bhatkal alone.

The committee asked Deputy Commissioner Ujjwal Kumar Ghosh to keep a check on the smuggling of liquor and other intoxicants. The DC said regular checks are conducted by coast guards and the navy patrols the sea regularly.

Committee members Jayamma, Allamaprabhu Patil, S V Sankanur, Vasu and Dr Shreenivas Murthy were present.

Source : Sahil Online , 6th Nov 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment