Translate The Content in Your Local Language

Friday, 14 February 2014

Indian Blind Cricket Team to tour Pak for T20 and ODI Bilateral Series : New Delhi

“They never ask for the sight screen to be shifted. They do not need a sight screen. They can only hear the ball, the strokes and the excited shrieks and shouts of their teammates. The lighting in a day night game means little to them because the umpire is the only one who sees the game.

Indian Blind Cricket Team to tour Pak for T20 and ODI Bilateral Series

Cricket is an obsession in India and the blind are no exception. The 2012 World Cup Champions of the 1st ever T20 Blind Cricket tournament are embarking on another adventurous tour to test their grit and metal. On 13th February 2014 the team of 15 players cross the Wagha border on foot to play the traditional competitors Blind Cricket Team of Pakistan in 3 ODIs and 3 T20 matches. Detailed schedule of the matches is appended with this note.

In his inaugural address Shri Mahantesh G Kivadasannavar, General Secretary CABI and Founder Managing Trustee Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled acknowledged the support received from Government of India and other corporate and individual friends because of whose support Samarthanam CABI is able to continue promoting cricket for the blind in the country. He said that it is such support and encouragement which will take the sport a long way. It will also encourage BCCI to consider affiliating with CABI for which CAABI is still striving hard to achieve. 

Speaking on the occasion Shri Nagesh President of CABI briefed about the forthcoming tour and the schedules. He also mentioned about Australian Blind Cricket team’s visit to Bangalore India in the month of April for a friendly series between the 13th and 15th of the month. He spoke about the preparations taking place for the proposed World Cup to be held at South Africa at the end of this year and the Indian team’s readiness to continue the winning spree. He requested the GOI of India to consider giving Arjuna Award or any of the other special awards meant for sports persons in India to Blind Cricketers as well. He thanked Sports Authority of India for assuring a grant for organizing the tour to Pakistan.

Addressing the Press Conference, Shri Oscar Fernandes, Hon’ble Minister for Road Transport & Highways, Government of India and Chief Patron Cricket Association for the BIind in India, (CABI) congratulated the organizers and the team for enhancing country’s fame through the most popular sport in the country. He recalled the Indian Blind cricket team’s excellent performance during the T20 World Cup in December 2012 and their victory over the arch rivals team Pakistan. He wished the team all success in the forthcoming competition as well. Shri Oscar praised Samarthanam and the founders for their commendable work in promoting persons with visual impairments in achieving heights of success and assured his continued support through Government India for such commendable endeavors. His clear message to the team was to continue the winning spree and continue making the country proud.

Shri Ajeet Singh Patwa President National Association for the Blind spoke about their experience in promoting Blind cricket in the state of Haryana and working closely with CABI to extend their support at the National level. He assured of continued support to the body and wished the Indian team good luck and expressed confidence in their continued winning spree.

Speaking on the occasion Captain of Indian team expressed high level of confidence in the team and their fitness levels. He said the team is excited about the forthcoming series and looks forward to winning the same.

Speaking on the occasion one of the players Iqbal Mohammad Jafar explained the rigorous practice sessions they underwent since 4th February under the able guidance of the coach Mr. Patrick who concentrated on their fitness and readiness. The manager Mr. David has instilled lot of confidence among the players. He said the team spirit and coordination in the team is excellent. He requested the media to carry the story of Blind cricket across India which is the only way to ensure the sport receives its due recognition.

CABI is greatly indebted to Shri Oscar Fernandes and Rajiv Sardesai for their continued cooperation and encouragement.   

Organized by CABI and Samarthanam, the Press Conference also featured the members of the Blind cricket team who leave Delhi for Pakistan on February 13th. Between February 14th and 24th, the team will play their Pakistani counterparts in the Indo-Pak Bilateral Series of 3 T20 and 3 ODI international matches in Pakistan.  A detailed schedule is highlighted below:

Itinerary of Indian Blind Cricket Team Tour to Pakista

   Dates                        Purpose             Venue

13th February 2014    Arrival of Indian team

15th February  2014    1st T-20    Lahore Gymkhana Cricket Ground, Bagh-e-Jinnah Lahore

16th February  2014    2nd T-20    Bohran Wala Cricket Ground Faisalabad

17th February  2014    3rd T-20    Bohran Wala Cricket Ground Faisalabad

19th February  2014    1st ODI    Southend  Cricket Stadium, DHA Karachi

21st February  2014    2nd ODI    National Cricket Stadium, Karachi

23rd February  2014    3rd ODI    National Cricket Stadium, Karachi

24th February  2014    Departure of Indian team

Team List of Indian Blind Cricket team is as follows:

S No.    Name                                     Category    State

1.         Lachma Shekar Naik (Captain)    B3    Karnataka

2.         Pooniya Hanuman                        B3    Rajasthan

3.         Karuppu Ramesh                          B3    Tamilnadu

4.         Deepak                                          B3    Haryana

5.         Ganvit Ganeshbhai Rupabhai       B3    Gujarat

6.         Illuri Ajaykumar Reddy (VC)      B2    Andhra Pradesh

7.         Dunna Venkateswara Rao             B2    Andhra Pradesh

8.         Majhi Sukhram (Wicket Keeper   B2    Odisha

9.         Wagh Swapnil Di;ip                      B2    Maharastra

10.       Patel  Hiteshbhai Gamanbhai        B2    Gujarat

11.       Patel Ketanbhai Babubhai             B1    Gujarat

12.       Iqbal Mohammed Jafar                 B1    Odisha

13.       Bhoya Subhash Soniyabhai          B1    Gujarat

14.       Satbir Singh                                  B1    Haryana

15.       Mangadi Kuttan Anish                 B1    Kerala

16.       Endal John David                    Manager-Karnataka

17.       Joseph Patrick Rajkumar           Coach-Karnataka

Source : Odhisha Diary , 12th Feb 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment